NBA Players Association Union Disbanded

by

I was going to write a full post about this, but Michael Wilbon already said everything I would have and with a more intimate knowledge of the standings of players and owners.

You can read that here: http://espn.go.com/espn/commentary/story/_/page/wilbon-111114/the-nba-labor-impasse-reached-particularly-objectionable-economy

I’m watching the Gonzaga v. Washington State college game right now, and I gotta tell you, these kids aren’t very good. I mean they got hustle and all, but compared to NBA ballers, they are strictly amateur. I think this whole missed season thing is going to be difficult. I may need to buy a VCR and break out my old VHS tapes of Bulls playoffs games past.

8 Responses to “NBA Players Association Union Disbanded”

  1. High Above Courtside Says:

    So what are you saying? That you are one of the 24% of the world that gives a sh*t about losing the season? (Me too) CSNNE Is showing old Celtics games. I watched the triple OT game vs Phoenix in “76 with Tommy and Havlicek commenting. Last night they showed the “86 playoff game where MJ scored 63.

    I think the league will lose in court if it actually makes it to a ruling. This is a lock out, There is a contract in place, or was anyway. This lock out is nothing more that the owners version of a wildcat strike. And the Celts, Lakers, Spurs, Bulls, Mav’s who weren’t losing money before—-welll they are sure going to be losing money now.

    • jpalumbo Says:

      From what I’m hearing everybody loses if this makes it to trial, well except the lawyers who could win really, really big. Say wasn’t it the lawyers who got us here?

      It sounds like a trial could take over a year to come to verdict. Then you’ve got appeals. All told four years of litigation is what I’m hearing is possible. The rookies and rank and file that the union was fighting for could really suffer, and the guys making crazy money could lose that crazy money if the courts don’t rule for them.

      Also if these smaller teams get hit for triple damages, they may fold or look to sell, which would eliminate player jobs or further delay hiring of rookies and free agents.

  2. High Above Courtside Says:

    Well if I was the players I’d take it to the streets like they did in the 60″s. That is right I’m talking about the ABA. As you know I have included several anecdotes about the ABA in my replies over the years.

    Bring back the ABA, make it a players owned league. Hell back when the original ABA was formed there were only three TV networks. Now there are dozens if not hundreds—not to mention internet etc. Bleep David Stern, Bleep the NBA. Anti trust you may ask? Last time I checked this was supposedly a free economy. Start the revolution now.

    So I can start getting “High above Courtside again!”

    • jpalumbo Says:

      Love the idea, though starting a new league would probably undermine their legal strategy. Hard to prove unfair labor practices and collusion when the monopoly is no longer in effect.

      I would kind of love to see a competing league formed in the interim. I don’t know the logistics of organizing a FIBA league, but a standing FIBA North America would be pretty cool to have.

  3. High Above Courtside Says:

    Don’t know the Logistics—well you better get on that because as the founder of the league (me)—i’m making you the first commissioner!

    • pmadavi Says:

      I’m also wondering if New York, Chicago, LA, Dallas, and a couple of other profitable teams might find a way to break away from the small market hard-liners . . . I’ll take a small round robin league thank you very much. I’ll take anything, actually. Other than having to withstand college refs. Call a foul dammit.

  4. High Above Courtside Says:

    I would have to double check with my commissioner, but I would welcome those teams into my new league–the ABAA. (aka American Basketball Assosciation Again)

Leave a Reply

